Welcome to the Government Affairs and Public Policy committee for the Society of Trauma Nurses. We are thrilled to have such passionate trauma advocates come together to focus on policy and legislative issues throughout the United States.

The leadership of not only the STN, but of this committee, are committed to giving trauma advocates a voice when pending legislative issues impact trauma systems.

This is a committee that will thrive because of the vast experience that each of members brings to the table. This committee will provide tools and resources for you, the trauma advocate, to be successful in your respective community.

We look forward to your thoughts and ideas. Thank you so much for your participation.


Chair: Cristy Meyer
Co Chair: Zach Robinson


STN Formally Endorses the MISSION ZERO Act

STN commends Senator Johnny Isakson (R-GA) and Rep. Michael Burgess (R-TX), for reintroducing the Military Injury Surgical Systems Integrated Operationally Nationwide to Achieve Zero Preventable Deaths Act in the 115th Congress as S.1022 and H.880 respectively. The act would assign Department of Defense trauma surgeons to level I, II, and III civilian trauma centers at the recommendation of the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine in order to address variations of care methods and provide additional training. The act would also create the Military and Civilian Partnership for Trauma Readiness Grant Program. Grants would be awarded to up to 20 eligible trauma centers to allow military trauma teams to provide full-time trauma care and related acute care at those centers provided the recipients allow those teams to be deployed by the DoD for military operations, training, and mass casualty events.

“Acute care at trauma centers nationwide will greatly benefit from increased access to the highly qualified, can-do medical professionals in our military,” said Isakson, who serves as chairman of the Senate Committee on Veterans’ Affairs. “Integrating our nation’s best trauma centers with military doctors who regularly operate in high-pressure situations will greatly benefit Americans.”

Click here to view the official STN letter of endorsement and contact your legislator today and ask them to cosponsor the legislation. To find your member of the House of Representatives, click here. To contact your Senator, click here. For more information contact Government Affairs Coordinator Adam Haley at

STN Endorsed Legislation H.R. 304 passes the House of Representatives

STN is happy to announce that H.R. 304 the “Protecting Patient Access to Emergency Medications Act of 2017” as introduced by Rep. Richard Hudson (R-NC-08) has passed the US House of Representatives. This bipartisan bill that will clarify existing law to allow emergency medical responders to administer controlled substances, such as pain narcotics and anti-seizure medications, under the supervision of a physician. This bill was previously passed in the 114th Congress as H.R. 4365 with the endorsement of the Society of Trauma Nurses. It now awaits action in the U.S. Senate and STN will closely monitor any developments as they occur.

Sponsor of the “National Trauma Care System Act” Rep. Tammy Duckworth wins Senate race in Illinois.

Congresswoman Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) has won election to the US Senate in the state of Illinois. Rep. Duckworth had recently introduced the “National Trauma Care System Act” and the Society of Trauma Nurses endorsed the legislation. Our staff has been in contact with her office to offer our congratulations and our commitment to working together to advance this critical piece of legislation going forward.


Find Your Representative / Find Your Senator
ACS Legislative Action Center
ENA: Government & Advocacy
STN GAPP Webinar

Endorsed Legislation

H.R. 304 Protecting Patient Access to Emergency Medications Act of 2017
H.R. 6132 National Trauma Care System Act

Is your office/organization seeking the Society of Trauma Nurses input or endorsement on legislation? Contact our headquarters office.

Adam Haley
Government Affairs Coordinator – Society of Trauma Nurses
446 E. High St., Suite 10 Lexington KY 40507